TheZCR.com Forums  

Go Back   TheZCR.com Forums > Tech Discussions > ZC Discussions

ZC Discussions Having problems? Considering a ZC? Ask it here. Please try to keep posts in this section technical in nature.


» Menu
Home

Arcade
Forums
Gallery
Repair Manuals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2005, 09:10 PM
oldschool1 oldschool1 is offline
Regular Ol' ZC'er
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
oldschool1 is an unknown quantity at this point
d16y8 head on a zc block

is this possible? i have heard that it is and isn't. I have a jdm sohc zc and was wondering what you guys thought. I believe it would work. the engine is basicaly the same as the z6 withought vtec. some people on another sight said that if an engine never was made with vtec iit wasn't possible. so it wouldn't be possible with a zc. but we all know that the people on that sight have no idea what the hekk they are talking about because there was a sohc vtec zc made. just wanted to know what you guys thought
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2005, 09:15 PM
BigDaddi's Avatar
BigDaddi BigDaddi is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: BigDaddiville
Posts: 890
BigDaddi is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to BigDaddi Send a message via AIM to BigDaddi Send a message via MSN to BigDaddi Send a message via Yahoo to BigDaddi
Re: d16y8 head on a zc block

it will work.............. the sohc zc is basically a JDM D16A6(Si) motor. go to google and search for "mini-me", anything you can do to an A6 you should be able to do to a sohc ZC.
__________________
02 Civic Si HB
95 Del Sol Si
98 EJ Coupe
93 EJ Coupe
Why Drive At All If You Can't Drive A Honda!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2005, 02:37 AM
kirkpatti's Avatar
kirkpatti kirkpatti is offline
That guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Posts: 1,105
kirkpatti is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to kirkpatti
Re: d16y8 head on a zc block

I don't see why not, there are all sorts of heads that will bolt up on other honda blocks. All you need be concerned about is timing and VTEC activation. On my stock d16a6 I put a d16z6 head on it, wired up an rpm activated switch and a twelve volt relay to the vtec solenoid and away I went. Timing is always the key. It is really not that hard to do, people do it everyday.

http://crx.honda-perf.org/articles/z6swap/z6swap.html
__________________
my signature was too long, now none of you know what I have!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHA jk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2005, 10:00 AM
oldschool1 oldschool1 is offline
Regular Ol' ZC'er
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
oldschool1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: d16y8 head on a zc block

i thought it was possible, thanks for the input. now would i have to acquire a vtec contoller? I have the p28 and the original wiring in the car with the vtec plugs.the car is a 93 civic
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2005, 11:39 AM
kirkpatti's Avatar
kirkpatti kirkpatti is offline
That guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Posts: 1,105
kirkpatti is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to kirkpatti
Re: d16y8 head on a zc block

If the harness is set up to take vtec and you already have a computer from a vtec motor then you don't really need a vtec controller. I suppose if you want one you can get one. When I did my mini me swap in the crx si I have I just got and rpm activated switch. If you have the ecu from a vtec car that would probably be better. The vtec doesn't kick in until you are going faster than 30 mph and are over 3800 rpms, but if you want to change what rpms it kicks in at then get a vtec controller.
__________________
my signature was too long, now none of you know what I have!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHA jk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2005, 04:51 PM
liam821 liam821 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,136
liam821 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to liam821
Re: d16y8 head on a zc block

Ive had a z6 and a y8 head on a jdm sohc ZC block before. It works just fine. I used a z6 timing belt and y8 headgasket.

You gotta pull out the oil squirter on the top of the block because you put on the head (its easy) - but other then that its a very simple swap.

liam
__________________
D-Series dohc Turbo Ninja
07 BMW 335i twin turbo coupe
93 Honda race car (honda challenge H2 class)
07 Kawasaki Ninja zx10r
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2005, 07:22 PM
crxrocks's Avatar
crxrocks crxrocks is offline
ZCR god
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 10,342
crxrocks is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to crxrocks
Re: d16y8 head on a zc block

SUPPOSED DOHC Head on y7 block.



__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abraham Lincoln
"A friend is one who has the same enemies as you have."
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-03-2005, 09:31 AM
rexman rexman is offline
Regular Ol' ZC'er
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 41
rexman is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to rexman
Re: d16y8 head on a zc block

Kirkpatti, liam821, crxrocks, what kind of comp. ratio, hp and trq. are generated from this frankenstein? Anyone dyno this set-up?
__________________
http://honda-tech.com/member.php?u=999377323
89 HF A'pexi Turbo ZC Neptune'd
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All contents of this website are property of TheZCResource.com, except where noted otherwise, and are subject to US Copyright laws